Sunkissed by Oslo

The fact that Norway is set to be the new California in a couple of decades’ time -climatically i.e. - is not a premonition constitutive of the name of Oslo’s Sunkissed dj night concept. It is rather the music that signifies the sun, one would presume, for it is certainly some of the hottest acts in Norwegian music that are presented on the newly released Sunkissed compilation.

Sunkissed (cover)

The record is issued by that Champagne label of the indy sphere Smalltown Supersound, and it is mixed by the Sunkissed pilots g-Ha and Olanskii along with other members of the fraternity of cutting-edge Norwegian dance- and trance inducers. The idea of releasing compilation-CDs was initially the Sunkissed brothers’ way of pimping the flyers for their DJ nights in Oslo and making their “be-there” concept a little more enduring. And enduring it has become; after eight years Sunkissed is now a concept of international renown; enough to make Pitchfork write special recommendations for the new compilation, under the slogan: “The deliciousness of Sunkist the soda?” (There is such a soda, and Sunkissed is the musical equivalent (sic.)) “-Forever incontestable.”

Vice Magazine UK writes of the record: "This exquisite mix by two Scando jocks who are old enough to know better showcases the spectrum of Norwegian dance from Rune Lindbaek through his cosmic heirs via remixes of spaced-out rocker guys like Serena Maneesh. Imagine Optimo but in Norway and way more handsome" (10/10, Vice Magazine UK)

The record, released May 7th. includes some of true in-vougers of Norwegian music, like 120 Days, Lindstrøm, Serena-Maneesh and Bjørn Torske. The full track list is as follows:

01 Serena-Maneesh - "Candlelighted (Kosmische Remix)"
02 Felix Laband - "Whistling In Tongues (Todd Terje Remix)"
03 Bjørn Torske - "Spelunker"
04 Disk Jokke - "Cold Out"
05 Blackbelt Andersen - "Sandoz"
06 Wekan - "Brownbred (Kango's Stein Massiv Remix)"
07 Mudd - "54b (Rune Lindbæk Holloway Miks)"
08 Bjørn Torske - "Kapteinens Skjegg"
09 Magnus International - "Kosmetisk"
10 Crue-l Grand Orchestra - "Psycho Piano"
11 Lindstrøm - "A Blast of Loser"
12 120 Days - "Come Out, Come Down, Fade Out, Be Gone"
13 Erot - "Haribo"
14 Telex - "Do Worry (Lindstrøm Remix 1)"
15 Mental Overdrive - "Original Material"
16 LSB - "Original Highway Delight (Mungolian Jet Set's Miami Camp Mix)"

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 ·