Spellemannspris winners announced

Last weekend saw the winners of the Spellemannspris – the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy – being announced. Last year’s hyped newcomers 120 Days had a field day with two awards.

120 Days (Photo: Kim Hiortøy)

At a major televised show broadcast on Norwegian TV2 last weekend, the Norwegian music industry celebrated last year’s achievements by awarding the annual Spellemannspris awards – the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy.

One of Norway’s hottest acts these days. 120 Days, was declared one of the night’s winners with two awards being bestowed upon them. Both the ‘Rock’ and Newcomer of the Year awards went to the much-hyped collective which hails from the small North-Western town of Kristiansund. Their self-titled debut album has been hailed as a masterpiece by domestic and international media and has been declared release of the year by a number of domestic dailies.

These were the winners of the 2006 Spellemannspris awards:

Female artist:
Marit Larsen – Under the Surface (EMI Music Norway)

Male artist:
Thomas Dybdahl – Science (Universal Music AS)

Pop group:
Minor Majority – Reasons to Hang Around (Big Dipper)

Lindstrøm – It’s A Feedelity Affair

Contemporary classical:
Grex Vocalis & The Norwegian Radio Orchestra – Arne Nordheim: Draumkvedet (Simax Classics)

120 Days – 120 Days (Smalltown Supersound)

Rita Engedalen – Heaven Ain’t Ready For Me Yet (Bluestown Records)

Ila Auto – If You Keep Pickin’, It Might Never Heal (Auto Records)

Enslaved – Ruun (Tabu Records)

Darkside of The Force – El Dia De Los Puercos (C+C Records)

Traditional folk music:
Kvarts – Steinsprang (Kvarts)

Dance orchestra:
Scandinavia – Alle Mann Til Pumpene (Tylden)

Atomic – Happy New Ears! (Jazzland)

Marianne Thorsen & the Trondheim Soloists – Mozart: Violin Concertos (2L)

Lars Bremnes – Hjertekaptein (KKV)

Open class:
Hanne Hukkelberg – Rykestrasse 68 (Propeller Recordings)

Children’s music:
Jul i Svingen – Various artists (Universal Music AS)

Newcomer of the year:
120 Days

Hit of the year:
Espen Lind, Kurt Nilsen, Alejandro Fuentes, Askil Holm – Hallelujah (Playroom/SonyBMG/Universal)

Music video:
Marit Larsen – Don’t Save Me

Spellemann of the year:

The Spellemannspris Honorary award:
Sissel Kyrkjebø
Åge Aleksandersen
Bjørn Eidsvåg

The Music Industry Award:

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 · aslak@musicnorway.no