Winners of Spellemannsprisen announced

Last weekend saw the winners of the Norwegian Grammy Awards, Spellemannsprisen, unveiled. The nominated artists and the award-winners clearly demonstrate that a younger generation is taking over.

Listen to a 30 second clip of Thomas Dybdahl’s From Grace – the winner of Spellemannsprisen’s pop solo-act category
Listen to more tracks or buy Thomas Dybdahl’s award-winning That Great October Sound album
Listen to a 30 second clip of Salvatore’s Easy
Listen to more tracks or Salvatore’s Tempo album which earned them the Electronica-awards at Spellemannsprisen

Röyksopp shown here at last year's MTV awards, took home prizes for Vieo of the Year as well as receiving the prestigious Spellemann-prize of the year for remarkable achievement

This year’s Spellemannsprisen differed from earlier shows in that it was TV2 that was chosen to broadcast the event. All past shows have been broadcast by the national Norwegian Broadcasting Company (NRK). During the last couple of years, Spellemannsprisen has drawn some criticism from various parts of the Norwegian music scene. Most of the critique has revolved around the Spellemannsprisens alleged lack of focus on younger artists and new trends. As an alternative to Spellemannsprisen, the Alarm prize has emerged to fill in the gaps left in Spellemannsprisens nominations. However, the Spellemannsprisen committee has met the criticism, and many felt that this year’s nominations gave a better reflection of the current activities on the Norwegian music scene.

If one is to draw a conclusion to this weekend’s Spellemannspris show, then it must be that the younger generation has tightened its grip and is ready to take over. Gone were many of the traditional mainstays, replaced by fresh new talent that has already left its mark both nationally and internationally. Given their considerable international success, Röyksopp was a hot-tipped favourite for many. And not particularly surprising, the duo won the two awards they were nominated for: video of the year and the prestigious Spellemann-prize of the year which is given to an artist or act that has distinguished itself with remarkable achievements.

Here’s an overview of the winners of the respective categories:

Norwegian language songwriting:

Odd Børretzen and Lars Martin Myhre: Kelner! (Tylden & Co.)


Madrugada: Grit (Virgin)


Satyricon: Volcano (Capitol)


Paperboys: No Cure For Life (Bonnier Amigo Music Norway)

Pop solo act:

Thomas Dybdahl: …That Great October Sound (CCAP)

Pop band:

Ephemera: Balloons And Champagne (Ephemera Records/Tuba)


Salvatore: Tempo (Racing Junior)

Newcomer of the Year:

Gåte: Jygri (Warner)

Open category:

Sidsel Endresen and Bugge Wesseltoft: Out Here, In There (Jazzland/Universal)


Come Shine: Do That Voodoo (Curling Legs)


Bjørn Berge: Illustrated Man (Farmen)

Leif Ove Andsnes: Schubert; Piano Sonata in A-Major D959 (EMI Classics)


Frode Haltli: Looking On Darkness (Grappa)


Øyonn Groven Myhren and Odd Nordstoga: Nivelkinn (Heilo)

Dance orchestra:

Dænsebændet: Får Vi Lov? (Tylden & Co.)


NRK Barn: UHU! Vol. 2 (Egmont Serieforlaget)

Song of the year:

"Mysteriet Deg" performed by Bjørn Eidsvåg and Lisa Nilson (Text and composition by Bjørn Eidsvåg)

Video of the Year:

Röyksopp: Remind Me (Wall of Sound/Virgin)

Spellemann-prize of the year for remarkable achievement:

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 ·