Nordic Music Prize candidates unveiled

The Nordic Music Prize unveils the candidates for the 2012 award.

A wide selection of music industry execs in each of the five Nordic countries have cast their votes and chosen 10 candidates from each country that are in the running to be one of the 12 nominees for Nordic Music Prize.

The Norwegian candidates for the 2012 Nordic Music Prize:

Ane Brun – It All Starts With One

Stein Torleif Bjella – Vonde Visu

Razika – Program ’91

Lars Vaular – Du betyr meg

Jonas Alaska – Jonas Alaska

Team Me – To The Treetops!

120 Days – 120 Days II

Montée – Renditions Of You

John Olav Nilsen og Gjengen – Det nærmeste du kommer

Martin Hagfors – I like you

Five countries (Iceland, Norway, Sweden Denmark and Finland) with 10 candidates each add up to 50 candidates competing for the 12 final nominations. The task of selecting the 12 nominees falls on the shoulders of a pan-Nordic nomination group consisting of distinguished music journalists. The result of their work will be revealed on the 1st of December when the 12 nominees for the Nordic Music Prize will be announced.

The difficult process of selecting the final winner among the 12 will be trusted to a very able international jury, and the jury’s verdict will be revealed on the 16th of February.

Nordic Music Prize puts a lot of work and resources into the search for the best album that the Nordic region have produced in the previous year. The organization expresses gratitude for having the music streaming service WiMP on board as a partner for our next edition. WiMPs strong focus on Nordic music makes them an ideal partner for Nordic Music Prize.

The international jury
After a long selection process, only one album and one artist can remain in the end. The job of selecting the final winner is down to this jury:

Rob Young – Author of the new book Electric Eden, former editor of The Wire, now writer for Uncut and The Wire.

Andres Lokko – Scandianavias most influential music writer. Now based in London. Writes for Svenska Dagbladet.

Laurence Bell – Owner of Domino Records

Jeannette Lee – Former member of P.I.L. Owner of Rough Trade Records with Geoff Travis. Manager of Pulp and Jarvis Cocker.

Mike Pickering – Former Factory Records employee, now A&R at Columbia Records UK.

Zach Kelly – Washington, D.C.-based freelance music journalist and critic. Regular contributor at and Paper magazine.
Jonathan Galkin – founder and owner of DFA Records.

More on the Nordic Music Prize here

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 ·