Spellemannspris winners announced

Last weekend saw the winners of the Spellemannspris – the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy – being announced.

Espen Lind 2009

At a major televised show broadcast on Norwegian TV2 last weekend, the Norwegian music industry celebrated last year’s achievements by awarding the annual Spellemannspris awards – the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy.

These were the winners of the 2008 Spesllemannspris awards:

Female artist: Maria Mena, «Cause And Effect»

Male Artist: Thom Hell, «God If I Saw Her Now»

Spellemann of the Year Award: Espen Lind

Pop group: Real Ones, «All For The Neighbourhood»

Folk: Halvdan Sivertsen, «Mellom Oss»

Open Class: Farmers Market, «Surfin? USSR»

Newcomer of the Year: Ida Maria, «Cause And Effect»

Track of the Year: The BlackSheeps «Oro Jaska Beana»

Rock: Lukestar, «Lake Toba»

Country: Ida Jenshus, «Color Of The Sun »

Elektronica: Lindstrøm, «Where You Go I Go Too »

Contemporary classical: Ellen Ugelvik, «George Crumb: Makrokosmos I-II»

Blues: Orbo & The Longshots, «High Roller»

Metal: Enslaved, «Vertebrae »

Hip-hop: Karpe Diem, «Fire Vegger»

Traditional Folk and Dance Music: Gjermund Larsen Trio, «Ankomst»

Dance Orchestra: Ingemars, «I Finnskogens Rike»

Jazz: Helge Lien Trio, «Hello Troll»

Classical: Henning Kraggerud, «Eugéne Ysaÿe: Six Sonatas For Solo Violin»

Children’s Music: Trondheim Sinfonietta, «Så Rart...!»

Contemporary classical composer of the year: Risto Holopainen, «Garbage Collection»

Popular music composer of the year: Thom Hell, «Darling» taken from the album «God if I saw her now»

Lyricist of the Year: Odd Børretzen, «Paradise Bay» taken from the album «Syv sørgelige sanger og tre triste»

Music Video of the Year: Madcon — «Liar» (Directed by Kaveh Tehrani/Babusjka)

Export Awards 2008: Madcon

Norwegian Track of All Time: Aha, «Take On Me»

The Music Industry Award: Audun Tylden, CEO of record label Tylden and noted producer

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 · aslak@musicnorway.no