Best of 2011 by DJ 99

Weekly playlists from MIC Norway is a new 2012 initiative from MIC Norway; DJ 99’s ‘ Best of 2011 in Norway’ sums up a strong year in Norway.

Razika, Årabrot, Sandra Kolstad, Helge Lien Trio, 120 Days, Casiokids, Fjorden Baby!, Ulver and Jenny Hval are just a few of the 26 strong entries on DJ 99’s carefully selected playlist ‘ Best of 2011 in Norway’ on Spotify.

Best of 2011 in Norway by DJ 99

This ’Best of 2011’ is the first in a long series of regular playlists to come from MIC Norway in 2012.

DJ 99, the curator of MIC Norway’s ’99 Minutes’ webcast series, has worked as a presenter, DJ, reporter and producer at the national Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation for 16 years, from 1992 to 2008 during which he hosted a wide range of programmes ranging from popular children’s shows, cutting-edge music programmes at the youth channels as well as culture and arts programmes on national TV. From 2003 to 2006 he produced 702 editions of the multi-rhythmic daily programme Wasabi on the NRK P2 channel. Up to 200,000 people would tune in daily on the complete genre-free blend of Swedish funk, Jamaican tango, Belarusian electro, Nigerian jazz, Venezuelan rock, Danish cumbia, Norwegian and Chinese jungle techno ... and virtually every imaginable genre in between! DJ 99 has performed in a wide range of settings ranging from the Sónar Festival in Barcelona to a small bar on the edge of a Serbian village. In 2007 he was one of only three selected DJs to play at the major music industry WOMEX festival in Seville. In 2005 he reached the finals of the International World Beat DJ Competition in London.

Best of 2011 in Norway – 99 Minutes' Choice:

Razika – Middelalder
Hedvig Mollestad Trio – Ashes
Årabrot – And The Ass Had Spoken
Splashgirl – The Other Side
Stein Torleif Bjella – Satan i unge år
Tindra – Ro ro Håskjer
Helge Lien Trio – Small No Need
Lukestar – Flying Canoes
Sprutbass – Ulykke
Ontz – Ugly Ceiling Lamp
Ovlla Ja Eskilla – Sapmelas (feat. Ovlla Ja Eskilla)
120 Days – Dahle Disco
Bugge Wesseltoft & Henrik Schwarz – Kammermusik
Bárut - Inga Juuso – Bálggis
Electrocutango – Adrenalina
Karin Park – Tiger Dreams Original - Original Mix
Håkon Kornstad – Damascus
Magnus Moriarty – Citadel Etc.
Jenny Hval – Portrait of the young girl as an artist
Casiokids – Dresinen
Fjorden Baby! – I Løp Av En By
Joddski – (Sett På No') Eazy-E (Mindflow Dubstep Remix) [feat. Vaagsbygd Handy]
Rigas Den Andre – Walla Walla
Ulver – September IV
Mats Eilertsen – SkyDive

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 ·