Photo: Arne Aronsen

Donkeyboy wins European Border Breaker Award

Timeless pop meisters Donkeyboy takes home the prestigious European Border Breakers Awards.

The winners of the 2011 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) for emerging talent in European pop, rock and dance music were announced this week by Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Eurosonic Noorderslag, the European music conference and showcase festival. The winners will receive their awards in a ceremony - including performances by most of the winning acts - hosted by TV personality and musician Jools Holland at the opening night of Eurosonic Noorderslag in Groningen, Netherlands, on 12 January 2011.

Writes EBBA in its press release: “Hailing from Norway are new pop sensation Donkeyboy. Their debut album Caught in a Life has sold 120,000 times in Norway alone since the release in October 2009. Donkeyboy are now emerging to wider acclaim through the album's release in the UK and other European countries.

Fronted by songwriters, joint lead vocalists and brothers Cato and Kent Sundberg, Donkeyboy are inspired by Tom Petty, Fleetwood Mac, Pet Shop Boys and A-ha. Bands linked by a natural ability to weave a captivating hook and whose attributes are permeated in the Donkeyboy lineage.

Recently seen on tour as support to A-ha, Donkeyboy’s growing fame has already earned them a MTV Europe Music Award nomination for Best Norwegian Act. They also found themselves the recipient of five nominations at the Spellemannprisen, Norway's equivalent to the Grammy Awards, including Best Pop Act and Best New Artist. Climbing steadily the European charts, Donkeyboy is possibly the greatest Norwegian export since A-ha and Röyksopp.”


The other winners of the European Border Breakers Awards 2011 are:

Saint Lu (Austria)

Stromae (Belgium)

Aura Dione (Denmark)

ZAZ (France)

The Baseballs (Germany)

Caro Emerald (Netherlands)

INNA (Romania)

Miike Snow (Sweden)

Mumford & Sons (UK)

On the opening evening of Europe’s biggest live music industry gathering of the year – Eurosonic Noorderslag; 10 European acts will receive a European Border Breaker Award during a spectacular TV-show presented by BBC-legend Jools Holland, recorded at the Oosterpoort Theatre Groningen and broadcast throughout Europe.

With the European Border Breakers Award – which is funded by the EU Culture Programme - the European Commission and the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) wish to highlight the success of 10 debuting European artists in selling albums and touring outside their home territory. The prize aims to stimulate the cross-border circulation of artists' works and to highlight Europe's great musical diversity.

The awards ceremony will take place on January 12th 2011 on the opening night of Eursonic Noorderslag, The European Music Conference and Showcase Festival. The ceremony will be recorded by Dutch national television NOS / NTR, that will also broadcast the show that same weekend.

Former winners of the European Border Breaker Award include now established artists such as Carla Bruni, Adele, Katie Melua, Damien Rice, The Thrills, Gabriel Rios, The Fratellis, Basshunter, Dolores O’ Riordan and many more.

Donkeyboy's MySpace site

Donkeyboy's site

Donkeyboy on Spotify

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 ·