Spellemannspris winners announced

Last weekend saw the winners of the Norwegian equivalent to the Grammy, the Spellemannspris, being announced.


Winners of the Norwegian music industry’s most coveted awards, the Spellemannspris, were announced this weekend at major ceremony broadcast by the national TV2 channel.

In contrast to earlier years, both the nomination process and the the selection of award winners were considered uncontroversial by most parties.

The coveted “Spellemann of the year” prize went to the highly popular Norwegian-language roots/folk-rock outfit Hellbillies – true veterans of Norwegian roads with multiple platinum selling albums to their credit. The “Newcomer of the year” award went to trumpet phenomenon Tine Thing Helseth, who, in addition to recognition and media exposure, will receive a grant of NOK 200 000 from GRAMO (the Norwegian joint collecting agency for performing artists and producers). The honorary award went to one of the nation’s most popular rock bands of all time, Norwegian language veterans Dum Dum Boys. The music industry award went to one of the most successful songwriters and producers of the last two decades, Secret Garden’s Rolf Løvland.

Female artist:

Susanne Sundfør - Susanne Sundfør (Your Favourite Music)

Male artist:

Magnet - The Simple Life (Sony BMG)

Pop act:

Superfamily - Warszawa (Propeller Rec.)


Salvatore - Days Of Rage (Racing Junior)

Contemporary classical:

Kari Rønnekleiv - Ole-Henrik Moe: Ciaccona/3 Persephone Perceptions (Rune Grammofon)


My Midnight Creeps - Histamin (MMC Records)


Grande - Uppers, Downers, Screamers & Howlers (Fabuloso Records)


Hellbillies - Spissrotgang (EMI Music Norway)


Mayhem - Ordo Ad Chao (Season Of Mist)


Madcon - So Dark The Con Of Man (Bonnier Amigo)


Sigrid Moldestad - Taus (Heilo)

Dance orchestra/schläger:

Anne Nørdsti - Livli’ På Låven (Tylden & Co)


Petter Wettre - Fountain Of Youth (Household Records)


Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra - Prokofiev: Romeo & Juliet (Bis Records AB)


Henning Kvitnes - Stemmer I Gresset (Bonnier Amigo/Scandicana)

Open class:

Live Maria Roggen - Circuit Songs (Jazzland)

Children’s music:

Rasmus Og Verdens Beste Band - Kyssing E Hæsli… (MBN)

Music video of the year:

Dimmu Borgir - The Serpentine Offering (Nuclear Blast) Directed by: Patrick Ullaeus

Newcomer of the year:

Tine Thing Helseth - Haydn/Hummel/Albinoni/Neruda (Simax Classics)

Hit of the year:

Madcon - “Beggin’” (Bonnier Music)

The Spellemann award:


Honorary award:

Dum Dum Boys

Music industry award:

Rolv Løvland

Share the story on:
                    |     More


New acquisitions from the National Library (sheet music)

MIC-pages is managed by Aslak Oppebøen
Tel: +47 90175338 · aslak@musicnorway.no